Iringa has far more primary and secondary schools than I could possibly list! However, there are couple of Universities:  Ruaha University (RUCU), University of Iringa & Mkwawa University College.

University of Iringa

University of Iringa, previously known Tumaini University of Iringa was founded in 1998. The University is located within the Iringa municipal region just in off Iringa – Dodoma road, in the Kihesa area. The University is presently operated and owned by the Evangelical Lutheran Church of Tanzania.


For more detail about University of Iringa, please visit their website.

Ruaha University (RUCU)

Ruaha Catholic University (RUCU), previously known Ruaha University College is owned and operated the Tanzania Episcopal Conference (TEC).

The University is governed and administered in accordance with the Catholic Church Policy on Higher Education Institutions. The university is open to any qualified student regardless of their faith or religious affiliations, race, ethnicity, gender etc.

RUCU is conveniently located in the centre of Iringa Municipality along Uhuru Avenue on the Great North Road to Dodoma, in the Wilolesi area.


For more detail about RUCO, please visit their website.

Mkwawa University College (MUCE)

Mkwawa University College of Education (MUCE) is located within Iringa Municipality, about 3 Kilometres from the main bus stand. MUCE was established as a constituent college of the University of Dar es Salaam (UDSM) in 2005 by upgrading the former Mkwawa High School.


MUCE offers the following programmes:

  1. Bachelor of Education in Arts (B.Ed. Arts)
  2. Bachelor of Education in Science (B.Ed. Science)
  3. Bachelor of Arts with Education (B.A. Ed.)
  4. Bachelor of Science with Education (B.Sc. Ed.)
  5. Postgraduate Diploma in Education (P.G.D.E.)
  6. Master of Science with Education in Biology Stream (M.Sc. BL/Ed.) and Chemistry Stream (M.Sc. CH/Ed.)

For more details about MUCE, please visit their website

Other colleges in Iringa include: Kleruu Teachers College , VETA & Ruaha Development Community College